Red Dead Redemption and The Greatest Video Game I’ve Never Played

It all comes back to this. I’ll never forget the first time I saw this trailer for the greatest game I’ve ever played, Red Dead Redemption 2. The way the music builds and swells right around the time Arthur Morgan begins to speak, saying “listen to me, when the time comes, you gotta run and don’t look back. This is over.” And…

It was over. For me anyway.

There is only one other game I have played in the last two or so years and that has been a small amount of the game Dishonored 2. I am constantly playing RDR2 and I don’t think I ever will stop. As long as I live I will always have this little thing in the back of my brain telling me to go back and restart the amazing campaign of Red Dead Redemption 2.

The world is so vast, so lush, beautiful, brutal, amazing, etc. that it can sometimes be hard to start playing. The story that you play through in the main campaign is, well, revelatory. Such is my own interpretation and experience with playing it. Which in a way is a little weird.

The game is a sequel/prequel to another game all about redemption for the main character that you play as. I loved the first game Red Dead Redemption as well, but the way I played through its story is a little odd. Well, more so it shows my lack of patience and the fact I needed a lot of action to be going on in the plot of a story to keep my attention at the time (I was 18).

There is a point during Red Dead Redemption when everything slows down a little bit. You bring cattle to your farm that you have won back. You finally see your family again and, in a way, it seems like the story is coming to a close. That it is just you and your family taking care of your settlement in the Great Plains of New Austin (the setting for RDR). At that point in the game I decided to stop playing.

Boy was I mistaken to do that at that point in the first game. There was quite a bit more in terms of plot development and emotional impact that the game would have had on me. Since I didn’t I missed out on an incredible experience many others had.

Yet, missing out on said experience others had at the time they went through it meant when I played through Red Dead Redemption 2 the story hit so much harder for me. Which is why I consider the story of Red Dead Redemption 2 as impactful as I find it.

At least that is why I think it may have had a slightly larger impact on me than it may have had on others.

I play with an Xbox One, though.

I don’t have a playstation.

While I love Red Dead Redemption’s 1 & 2 there is a story I still need to play on the playstation as great or greater.

Can you guess where I’m going with this?

This…

The Last of Us Pt. 2 is my favorite game that I’ve never played.

I want to go into spoilers so bad.

I want to say why I think this is one of the most important, impeccably made, and fantastically revolutionary games to ever come out. (I know, it’s kind of funny I know all the spoilers and I still think it’s my favorite game I’ve never played). Yet I think you and everybody else should play the first Last of Us game and this sequel to it. So…

I’ll just say that The Last of Us Part 2 is my favorite video game that I’ve never played.

And… an eye for an eye makes the world go blind. You bloodthirsty fools!

Advertisements

One-Time
Monthly
Yearly

Make a one-time donation

Make a monthly donation

Make a yearly donation

Choose an amount

¤5.00
¤10.00
¤20.00
¤5.00
¤15.00
¤100.00
¤5.00
¤15.00
¤100.00

Or enter a custom amount


Your contribution is appreciated.

Your contribution is appreciated.

Your contribution is appreciated.

DonateDonate monthlyDonate yearly

Published by schizoaffect92

If you couldn't tell by the title of my site or some of my posts I am schizoaffective bipolar type. I'm trying to become a screenwriter and, hopefully, a good enough blogger. Furthermore I hope to show through my posts and any further work I do that those dealing with psychotic illnesses are not what many may think they are.

Leave a comment