The Banality of Mediocrity… Is Hope for Husker Football Dead?

“Hope is a dangerous thing. Hope can drive a [fan] insane.”

-Red
Josh Allen & Buffalo Bills Losing

No matter your rooting interest in the NFL as long as you watch the sport it seems we all witnessed the Greatest Divisional Round Ever this past weekend. Every single game came down to the last minute. Also, each game included a heartbreaking loss. I think we can all agree about one thing though…

We’re all glad we are not Buffalo Bills fans.

As someone that only ever really watches the NFL during the playoffs nowadays (I’ve never had a team I really rooted for) I was enticed at the prospect of the Bills going to the Super Bowl. At the same time I knew their history like everybody else. Who hasn’t seen the 30 for 30 on Buffalo’s four straight Super Bowl losses?

“I haven’t.”

“That’s enough out of you Steve. I’m tired of setting up ESPN + for you.”

While I would hate to be a Browns fan, Lions fan, Jets, Jaguars, God forbid a Cowboys fan, I can’t imagine dealing with the pain of being a Buffalo Bills fan. To deal with the heartbreak of getting so close so many times and never being able to win the big one seems like, well… a curse. A debilitating task to deal with such moments through out someone’s life.

Thus you could almost say that being a fan of Nebraska isn’t such a horrible curse like it would be as a fan of the Bills. The idea of such pain. To be brought into existence, live, love, pay taxes, die, and all the while have the added heartbreak of actually believing greatness is possible, only to never achieve it. I say…

Screw what I’ve said so far.

Look at Georgia. ‘Bama when Saban first came to their program and won them their first in over a decade. All the programs who never had won before. Hell, just Sunday Tom F*%^ing Brady had the last minute drive he always does yet lost. The Rams and a QB (Stafford) who played for the mediocre Lions and could never win anything beat Brady.

The tide is turning. At the least it could. As the immortal Kevin Garnett once said…

“ANYTHING IS POSSIBLE!”

Kevin Garnett

As a fan of the Nebraska Cornhuskers. As someone nearing their 30’s and cannot remember what it is like for Nebraska to win a championship. Being a person who loves to root for the underdog. The perennial loser. The Browns sometimes. As a fan of sport. The greatest feeling ever seems like it has to be the win that comes when all is nigh, when it seems all hope is lost.

Ladies… Gentlemen… How do you describe the 2021 Cornhusker football season as anything other than the season we couldn’t take anymore? The season of heartbreaking loses. Seemingly the season all hope was lost.

We’ve done it. We hit rock bottom. Where else do we possibly go but up.

All we’ve got to do is crawl through 500 yards of s*&t. We’ll get clean on the other side. Us and our tiny bar of prison soap. You know why?

“I hope” Scott. I hope.

One-Time
Monthly
Yearly

Make a one-time donation

Make a monthly donation

Make a yearly donation

Choose an amount

¤5.00
¤10.00
¤20.00
¤5.00
¤15.00
¤100.00
¤5.00
¤15.00
¤100.00

Or enter a custom amount


Your contribution is appreciated.

Your contribution is appreciated.

Your contribution is appreciated.

DonateDonate monthlyDonate yearly

Published by schizoaffect92

If you couldn't tell by the title of my site or some of my posts I am schizoaffective bipolar type. I'm trying to become a screenwriter and, hopefully, a good enough blogger. Furthermore I hope to show through my posts and any further work I do that those dealing with psychotic illnesses are not what many may think they are.

2 thoughts on “The Banality of Mediocrity… Is Hope for Husker Football Dead?

  1. Mr. Millennial, Dude…you have not a clue. The Great Tom Osborne waited 23 years as head coach to get his first national title. GA waited 40 years. Rock bottom? We were in every game competitively this year, no blowouts. That was progress UP from the bottom.

    Like

    1. Check my other blog posts/articles about the Huskers. (If you have the time or if you want). I’m pretty sure you’ll get that me saying rock bottom is in so many ways a turn of a phrase much more than a belief this season is worse. Specifically our D this last year deserved something like a playoff berth or maybe a slight level lower.

      Like

Leave a comment